Our Students Soar - Strategic Plan 2021

St. John’s School has many milestones to celebrate throughout its vibrant 35-year history: the completion of our original campus master plan, ten years of the IB programme, and our alumni around the world. Over the last year, the governors, administration, faculty, parents and students have reflected on the St. John’s School experience. How can we best prepare our students for the future while ensuring they are thriving in the present? How do we provide a place for students to explore their individual interests and discover their unique abilities?

Our community members’ responses revealed common themes and they have been distilled into five strategic goals: Connected Communities, Beyond Academics, Healthy Living, Exceptional Talent & Teams, and Long-Term Sustainability. Many of the priorities we identified are common across the goals: celebrating our students beyond our school walls; partnering with organizations in the greater community; building school spirit; prioritizing wellness and environmental stewardship; and ensuring strong volunteer leadership.

We are grateful for all of the individuals who provided input for our strategic planning and Berlineaton for guiding us through the process. We will continue to update the community as the school administration determines the tactics that will support our strategic priorities. We are looking forward to partnering with our school families to fulfill the plan we have before us and to witness our students flourish as a result.

To the future with hope,

Pamela Jefcoat            Blayne Addley                  Michael Murphy
Chair, Board of Governors        Head of School                        Chair, Strategic Planning Committee 

Strategic Planning Committee

Michael Murphy, Chair
Blayne Addley*
Jonathan Buchwald
Angela Dudek*
Trevor Gale*
Lee-Lynn Gan
Gary Kuno*
Stacey Lee
Chris Leung
Valerie Little*
Allan Russell
Linda Thyer  

*denotes ex officio members. Head of School and Chair of the Board are ex officio members on all committees.

Board of Governors - Strategic Planning Period

Pamela Jefcoat, Chair
Grant Christoff, Vice-Chair
Darrell Chambers, Secretary
Lee-Lynn Gan, Treasurer
Jeff Guise
Gloria Leong-Sit
Judith Mewhort
Michael Murphy
Natasha Prodan-Bhalla
Allan Russell
Linda Thyer